Responsive Ad Slot

header ko side



Newly Elected Vice-President Pun Takes Oath

Monday, November 2, 2015

| Khabar Site

nanda kishor pun elected vice president

Newly elected Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun (Nanda Kishor Pun Pashang) has taken oath of office and secrecy on Sunday.

In an function at President's residence Shital Niwas, President Bidya Bhandari had administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Vice-President.
Prime Minister KP Oli, House Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar, former prime minister Sushil Koirala, outgoing vice-president Paramananda Jha and other international delegates and dignitaries were present at the function.
Pun, former commander of the Maoist Army, was elected the second Vice-President of Federal Democratic Republic Nepal defeating  Nepali Congress candidate Amiya Kumar Yadav on Saturday. Pun secured 325 votes with supports from the ruling parties CPN- UML, UCPN Maoist, RPP Nepal, Forum Democratic and other small parties whereas congress candidate Yadav secured 212 votes only.
Of the 596 lawmakers in the parliament, 547 votes were  cast in the election held inside the parliament, where 10 votes appeared invalid.
After Pun took the oath of office and secrecy, outgoing Vice-President Paramananda has Jha handed over his office to Pun and congratulated his successor.
Born in Rangsi of Rolpa district, Pun had involved in the politics joining  the Communist Party of Nepal (Unity Centre) before he became its district central committee member in 1990. He was promoted as district president of the youth wing of the party soon after he was selected
in the district committee member. He participated in the 10 years Maoist war after the Maoist party  launched  the People’s War in 1996.

He was later appointed as one of the four deputy commanders of the Maoist Army and was involved in several battles against the then government's army.
After the Maoist party joined mainstream politics, Pun was nominated as the chief of the Maoist Army by the party.

He was defeated by Nepali Congress leader Gagan Thapa in Kathmandu Constutuency-4 in the second Constituent Assembly Election 2013.
Newer Post Next Story: Older Post Home
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
Crafted with by NetKUTI