Responsive Ad Slot

header ko side



Major Parties Signed Deal On 6 Federal States

Sunday, August 9, 2015

| Khabar Site

After weeks long uncertainty and negotiations among the major power stakeholders, parties finally have signed an agreement on 6 Pradesh model with fixed boundaries of the new federal states.

Last night prime minister Sushil Koirala, CPN UML chairman KP Oli, CPN Maoist chairman Puspa Kamal Dahal (Prachanda) and chairman of Madheshi Janaadhikar Forum (democratic) Bijaya Kumar Gachhchhadhar have signed the deal at the meeting of Constitutional Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee led by Maoist leader Dr Baburam Bhattarai. Although Prachanda and Gachhchhadhar have signed with some reservation over certain issues saying they wouldn't block the new  constitution promulgating process which is the biggest task of the nation now.
Parties have also agreed on new citizenship act which states that one can derive citizenship from either a Nepalese father or a Nepalese mother which earlier was stated as Father and Mother.
It is said that parties are yet to decide on the issues of secularism, threshold in elections and constitutional court.

Those points which are already agreed will be endorsed through the meeting of Constitutional Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee at 11 am on Sunday and sent to the Constituent Assembly which has been scheduled for 1 pm on Sunday.
In the boundaries of the new federal states, most of the present districts remain unchanged except 2 districts Baglung and Nawalparasi which will be split to form different neighboring states.
Below is the map of the proposed 6 states model based federal states of Nepal.
 map of federal six states of  Nepal
Newer Post Next Story: Older Post Home
Don't Miss
© all rights reserved
Crafted with by NetKUTI